FiTech EFI Tuning Forum

Forum breadcrumbs - You are here:ForumYour Ride: Your build72 Jeep truck with 2BBL
Please or Register to create posts and topics.

72 Jeep truck with 2BBL

I'm new to Fitech or any fuel injection for that matter and don't understand just a whole lot about adjusting or tuning this stuff but an idle jet has been broken on my old Motorcraft 2bbl which has been bothering me since I rebuilt the engine so I decided to upgrade to FI.

My truck is a mostly all original stock J4500 with AMC 360. The only mods that have been done are an HEI ignition and now the Fitech 2BBL. I've run into a few issues hooking up the Fitech but nothing too serious. The biggest thing has been the temperature sensor. My engine has nowhere to put it except the thermostat housing, and I'm not willing to modify anything that can't be undone. The original temp sensor is tiny, there are no other holes in the intake and the block drains are also smaller than the Fitech sensor. Currently I am using the thermostat housing but plan on adding something to the heater hose for better readings.

I used a Fitech 40102 Fuel pump and mounted it in the fuel tank, which required modifying the sending unit a bit but other than that it fit through the existing hole. It seems to work well.

I'm a little confused about the setup because what's on the hand held controller doesn't match the directions from Fitech. In the online quick start guide it tells you to go to engine setup, which I did. I entered engine size, cam, rev limit, all that but when I came to item 6 on the list the guide says that item 6 should be "Tach or 2-wire" but on my controller Item 6 is "Pump PWM low flow" and has a default setting of 80.0. Item 7 on the list is "Reset fuel learn" and has a default setting of 0. Item 8 is "Tach or 2-wire". I have no ideas what to do with those settings so I left them alone and hope the self learning does whatever is needed. I contacted Fitech about them but haven't heard back.